|
View:
New views
5 Messages
—
Rating Filter:
Alert me
|
|
|
Botnet keeps trippingThis might be very simple, but Botnet keeps triggering on a local
school district. I THOUGHT that I added it to the pass_domains list correctly. Help! Botnet.cf has the following in it: botnet_pass_domains amazon\.com # they use IP in Hostname; dorks botnet_pass_domains apple\.com # special test case botnet_pass_domains ebay\.com # pool in hostname botnet_pass_domains nisdtx\.org # Northwest ISD botnet_pass_domains ntta\.org # NTTA The headers that keep getting tripped: Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1]) by heap.pbp.net (Postfix) with ESMTP id 76927E41E6 for <jnichols@...>; Tue, 3 Nov 2009 15:35:26 -0600 (CST) X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at heap.pbp.net X-Spam-Flag: NO X-Spam-Score: 5.743 X-Spam-Level: ***** X-Spam-Status: No, score=5.743 tagged_above=-999 required=6 tests=[AWL=-0.313, BAYES_00=-2.599, BOTNET=5, HTML_MESSAGE=0.001, HTML_MIME_NO_HTML_TAG=0.097, MIME_HTML_ONLY=1.457, RCVD_IN_BNBL=2, RDNS_NONE=0.1] Received: from heap.pbp.net ([127.0.0.1]) by localhost (heap.pbp.net [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id S3FCL7keoDvd for <jnichols@...>; Tue, 3 Nov 2009 15:35:20 -0600 (CST) Received: from mail.nisdtx.org (unknown [70.129.99.5]) by heap.pbp.net (Postfix) with ESMTP id D58E8E41E4 for <jnichols@...>; Tue, 3 Nov 2009 15:35:20 -0600 (CST) Received: from espapp01.nisdtx.org ([10.111.9.24]) by mail.nisdtx.org with ESMTP; Tue, 03 Nov 2009 15:35:18 -0600 Received: from espapp01 ([10.111.9.24]) by espapp01.nisdtx.org with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.3959); Tue, 3 Nov 2009 15:35:17 -0600 MIME-Version: 1.0 |
|
|
Re: Botnet keeps trippingOn Thu, 5 Nov 2009 19:39:10 -0600
Jonathan Nichols <jnichols@...> wrote: > This might be very simple, but Botnet keeps triggering on a local > school district. I THOUGHT that I added it to the pass_domains list > correctly. I'm not 100% sure, but I think the issue is that it hits BOTNET because mail.nisdtx.org has no reverse DNS, and BOTNET uses reverse DNS for checking pass_domains. The mail.nisdtx.org in the headers is just a helo, so there's no real evidence for nisdtx.org anywhere in the headers. The plugin could do its own A-record lookup on mail.nisdtx.org and verify it against the IP address, but I guess it doesn't. I suppose you'll have to use the IP address instead. You might also consider using the SOHO exclusion, which I think might have eliminated this FP. i.e. replace the BOTNET definition with meta BOTNET ( ! BOTNET_SOHO && (BOTNET_CLIENT || BOTNET_BADDNS || BOTNET_NORDNS) ) |
|
|
Re: Botnet keeps trippingOn Fri, 6 Nov 2009 03:28:40 +0000
RW <rwmaillists@...> wrote: > The mail.nisdtx.org in the headers is > just a helo, so there's no real evidence for nisdtx.org anywhere in > the headers. The plugin could do its own A-record lookup on > mail.nisdtx.org and verify it against the IP address, but I guess it > doesn't. > Actually even if it does, there's a mismatch Received: from mail.nisdtx.org (unknown [70.129.99.5]) dig +short mail.nisdtx.org 70.129.99.3 |
|
|
Re: Botnet keeps trippingyeah, RW pretty much hit this one on the head. You're going to need
to exempt it by IP, not by domain name. On Thu, Nov 5, 2009 at 19:56, RW <rwmaillists@...> wrote: > On Fri, 6 Nov 2009 03:28:40 +0000 > RW <rwmaillists@...> wrote: > > >> The mail.nisdtx.org in the headers is >> just a helo, so there's no real evidence for nisdtx.org anywhere in >> the headers. The plugin could do its own A-record lookup on >> mail.nisdtx.org and verify it against the IP address, but I guess it >> doesn't. >> > > Actually even if it does, there's a mismatch > > Received: from mail.nisdtx.org (unknown [70.129.99.5]) > > > dig +short mail.nisdtx.org > 70.129.99.3 > |
|
|
Re: Botnet keeps trippingD'oh. I didn't catch that one.
Thanks guys.. I'll allow it by IP.. and hopefully get in touch with the admin to fix their broken DNS. :D On Nov 5, 2009, at 11:41 PM, John Rudd wrote: > yeah, RW pretty much hit this one on the head. You're going to need > to exempt it by IP, not by domain name. > > On Thu, Nov 5, 2009 at 19:56, RW <rwmaillists@...> wrote: >> On Fri, 6 Nov 2009 03:28:40 +0000 >> RW <rwmaillists@...> wrote: >> >> >>> The mail.nisdtx.org in the headers is >>> just a helo, so there's no real evidence for nisdtx.org anywhere in >>> the headers. The plugin could do its own A-record lookup on >>> mail.nisdtx.org and verify it against the IP address, but I guess it >>> doesn't. >>> >> >> Actually even if it does, there's a mismatch >> >> Received: from mail.nisdtx.org (unknown [70.129.99.5]) >> >> >> dig +short mail.nisdtx.org >> 70.129.99.3 >> |
| Free embeddable forum powered by Nabble | Forum Help |