Log message help

View: New views
8 Messages — Rating Filter:   Alert me  

Log message help

by mario fibbi :: Rate this Message:

Reply to Author | View Threaded | Show Only this Message

Hi,
when i send a message (with my qmail server) to a mail box of my friend (to other mail server), he doesn't receive the message.
I have this in my log:
delivery 133137: success: 77.43.xxx.xxx_accepted_message./Remote_host_said:_250_Queued_(0.250_seconds)

What does it mean?
How can i debug more in depth?

Thanks, M.

Re: Log message help

by Hugo Monteiro-2 :: Rate this Message:

Reply to Author | View Threaded | Show Only this Message

mario fibbi wrote:

> Hi,
> when i send a message (with my qmail server) to a mail box of my
> friend (to other mail server), he doesn't receive the message.
> I have this in my log:
> delivery 133137: success:
> 77.43.xxx.xxx_accepted_message./Remote_host_said:_250_Queued_(0.250_seconds)
>
> What does it mean?
> How can i debug more in depth?
>
> Thanks, M.

Hi Mario,

Means that your message was accepted by your friends email server. If
the message is being lost somewhere, it's on his end, meaning that your
server is doing just fine.

Regards,

Hugo Monteiro.

--
ci.fct.unl.pt:~# cat .signature

Hugo Monteiro
Email : hugo.monteiro@...
Telefone : +351 212948300 Ext.15307
Web      : http://hmonteiro.net

Centro de Informática
Faculdade de Ciências e Tecnologia da
                   Universidade Nova de Lisboa
Quinta da Torre   2829-516 Caparica   Portugal
Telefone: +351 212948596   Fax: +351 212948548
www.ci.fct.unl.pt      apoio@...

ci.fct.unl.pt:~# _


Re: Log message help

by Werner Van Belle :: Rate this Message:

Reply to Author | View Threaded | Show Only this Message


>> when i send a message (with my qmail server) to a mail box of my
>> friend (to other mail server), he doesn't receive the message.
>> I have this in my log:
>> delivery 133137: success:
>> 77.43.xxx.xxx_accepted_message./Remote_host_said:_250_Queued_(0.250_seconds)
>>
> Means that your message was accepted by your friends email server. If
> the message is being lost somewhere, it's on his end, meaning that
> your server is doing just fine.
Is it coincidently a hotmail address ? I noticed that all mail from my
domain to hotmail and similar Microsoft services ends up in the spambox,
which annoys me. However there is not much I can do about it on the
sending side.

Werner,-

--
Dr. Werner Van Belle
http://werner.yellowcouch.org/




signature.asc (268 bytes) Download Attachment

Re: Log message help

by mario fibbi :: Rate this Message:

Reply to Author | View Threaded | Show Only this Message



2009/9/22 Werner Van Belle <werner@...>

>> when i send a message (with my qmail server) to a mail box of my
>> friend (to other mail server), he doesn't receive the message.
>> I have this in my log:
>> delivery 133137: success:
>> 77.43.xxx.xxx_accepted_message./Remote_host_said:_250_Queued_(0.250_seconds)
>>
> Means that your message was accepted by your friends email server. If
> the message is being lost somewhere, it's on his end, meaning that
> your server is doing just fine.
Is it coincidently a hotmail address ? I noticed that all mail from my
domain to hotmail and similar Microsoft services ends up in the spambox,
which annoys me. However there is not much I can do about it on the
sending side.

Werner,-

--
Dr. Werner Van Belle
http://werner.yellowcouch.org/



No, is not a hotmail address. I know that his server use greylisting. Can this cause the problem?

Re: Log message help

by Niamh Holding :: Rate this Message:

Reply to Author | View Threaded | Show Only this Message

Hello Werner,

Tuesday, September 22, 2009, 11:09:32 AM, you wrote:

WVB> Is it coincidently a hotmail address ? I noticed that all mail from my
WVB> domain to hotmail and similar Microsoft services ends up in the spambox,
WVB> which annoys me. However there is not much I can do about it on the
WVB> sending side.

Lucky you, at least yours arrives.

So much of what we send to hotmail addresses gets accepted then
disappear into thin air!

--
Best regards,
 Niamh                            mailto:niamh@...


attachment0 (192 bytes) Download Attachment

Re: Log message help

by Hugo Monteiro-2 :: Rate this Message:

Reply to Author | View Threaded | Show Only this Message

mario fibbi wrote:

>
>
> 2009/9/22 Werner Van Belle <werner@...
> <mailto:werner@...>>
>
>
>     >> when i send a message (with my qmail server) to a mail box of my
>     >> friend (to other mail server), he doesn't receive the message.
>     >> I have this in my log:
>     >> delivery 133137: success:
>     >>
>     77.43.xxx.xxx_accepted_message./Remote_host_said:_250_Queued_(0.250_seconds)
>     >>
>     > Means that your message was accepted by your friends email
>     server. If
>     > the message is being lost somewhere, it's on his end, meaning that
>     > your server is doing just fine.
>     Is it coincidently a hotmail address ? I noticed that all mail from my
>     domain to hotmail and similar Microsoft services ends up in the
>     spambox,
>     which annoys me. However there is not much I can do about it on the
>     sending side.
>
>     Werner,-
>
>     --
>     Dr. Werner Van Belle
>     http://werner.yellowcouch.org/
>
>
>
> No, is not a hotmail address. I know that his server use greylisting.
> Can this cause the problem? *
> *

No. As i stated before, your message DOES get accepted. If by any chance
the greylisting mechanism was enforcing message delay, you would get
something like

@400000004ab8b2d917663624 delivery 50986: deferral:
xxx.xxx.xxx_does_not_like_recipient./Remote_host_said:_450_4.7.1_<user@...>:_Recipient_address_rejected:_Greylisted,_see_http://isg.ee.ethz.ch/tools/postgrey/help/iit.it.html/Giving_up_on_xxx.xxx.xxx./


Regards,

Hugo Monteiro.

--
ci.fct.unl.pt:~# cat .signature

Hugo Monteiro
Email : hugo.monteiro@...
Telefone : +351 212948300 Ext.15307
Web      : http://hmonteiro.net

Centro de Informática
Faculdade de Ciências e Tecnologia da
                   Universidade Nova de Lisboa
Quinta da Torre   2829-516 Caparica   Portugal
Telefone: +351 212948596   Fax: +351 212948548
www.ci.fct.unl.pt      apoio@...

ci.fct.unl.pt:~# _


Re: Log message help

by Niamh Holding :: Rate this Message:

Reply to Author | View Threaded | Show Only this Message

Hello mario,

Tuesday, September 22, 2009, 12:01:09 PM, you wrote:

mf> I know that his server use greylisting. Can this cause the problem?

No, then you should see a 4xx deferal message

--
Best regards,
 Niamh                            mailto:niamh@...


attachment0 (192 bytes) Download Attachment

Re: Log message help

by Werner Van Belle :: Rate this Message:

Reply to Author | View Threaded | Show Only this Message

mario fibbi wrote:

>
>
> 2009/9/22 Werner Van Belle <werner@...
> <mailto:werner@...>>
>
>
>     >> when i send a message (with my qmail server) to a mail box of my
>     >> friend (to other mail server), he doesn't receive the message.
>     >> I have this in my log:
>     >> delivery 133137: success:
>     >>
>     77.43.xxx.xxx_accepted_message./Remote_host_said:_250_Queued_(0.250_seconds)
>     >>
>     > Means that your message was accepted by your friends email
>     server. If
>     > the message is being lost somewhere, it's on his end, meaning that
>     > your server is doing just fine.
>     Is it coincidently a hotmail address ? I noticed that all mail from my
>     domain to hotmail and similar Microsoft services ends up in the
>     spambox,
>     which annoys me. However there is not much I can do about it on the
>     sending side.
>
>     Werner,-
>
>     --
>     Dr. Werner Van Belle
>     http://werner.yellowcouch.org/
>
>
>
> No, is not a hotmail address. I know that his server use greylisting.
> Can this cause the problem? *
> *
It get's accepted so it's not a greylisting problem. Maybe the best
thing would be to contact the receiver side and see what's up ? First of
all: did it arrive but was it marked spam ? If not: where did it get
lost at the receiver side ? Was the email address maybe spelt wrong and
did the default delivererer get the message (that is the postmaster
instead of user <x>) ? Does the receiving user have a filter that
trashed your content directly ? It might be that it automatically gets
selected as spam since you might be mailing from a dynamic host in which
case the spamdetector will see this and decide what to do with your
mail. All vague idea I know but you will need to talk with the receiver
of your message to see where something went wrong. Something I also
noticed is a certain forgetfullness of people. You ask them: 'did you
get my message: A: No. You ask them whether they can check with numbers,
dates, subject header etcetera and suddenly they seem to find it back !

Wkr,

--
Dr. Werner Van Belle
http://werner.yellowcouch.org/




signature.asc (268 bytes) Download Attachment