On 24 August 2012 18:20, Greg Creager <greg.creager@...> wrote:
> I have a user that believes that the TortoiseSVN update lost his file changes. He says he made changes, built tested and then later updated, now his changes are gone, the file in question does not even show up as modified.
> I have never seen an update undo changes, worse case you get conflicts with local mods, but I wanted to post this here. Is it even possible through the update mechanism to have local changes undone/reverted?
Not without your consent. That would be a show stopper bug in
Subversion. If the files are text then changes get merged and may
generate conflicts. If the files are binary (or treated as binary by
Subversion) then local and remote changes will generate a conflict.
The conflict callback does give you an option to choose either the
local or remote version, so if that happened then he could have chosen
the remote version and discarded his own changes. But if you are
working with binary file types you should be using file locking to
guard against such events. Off the top of my head I'm not sure if the
local file gets sent to the recycle bin if you choose the remote
version. Worth a look in there.
Alternatively did your user commit the changes and then someone else
reverted them in a later commit? The history would tell you that.
Of course if you have developers sharing a working copy on a network
share then all bets are off. You will lose data that way.
: oo // \\ "De Chelonian Mobile"
: (_,\/ \_/ \ TortoiseSVN
: \ \_/_\_/> The coolest Interface to (Sub)Version Control
: /_/ \_\ http://tortoisesvn.net