« Return to Thread: sorbs

Re: sorbs

by kj-12 :: Rate this Message:

Reply to Author | View in Thread

pch0317 wrote:
> What I can do to delisted from sorbs? Should I only use this link
> http://www.au.sorbs.net/cgi-bin/support and everything will be ok?
You could do whatever they ask and then pray they actually de-list you.
   It's not a guarantee though.  Which sites are blocking you based on
SORBS?

First try to figure out why you got listed.  Did you have a website
compromise?  Contact form spam? SMTP auth password guessed?  Does your
server bounce mail to external addresses?

> Anyone have this problem?
Had.  Ended up having to get a new IP because despite paying their
ransom, they never de-listed us.

> Why I have been listed on dnsbl.sorbs.net?
Most reputable dns blacklists use a combination of spam traps and common
sense.  SORBS can be quite trigger happy.

> Only, because I haven't DNS
> PTR record for my domain? Should I write this PTR to DNS?

Your DNS setup won't get you listed on a dnsbl, but it might cause mail
providers to reject mail from you.   You need to have a DNS A record
that matches the hostname your MTA uses in SMTP conversation.  telnet to
your mail server on port 25 to find out.  The hostname should be a fully
qualified domain name.  The A record should point to the server's
primary IP (or which ever IP the server uses to send mail, if it's set
different).  In addition to that, said IP should have a PTR record that
matches the hostname.


Good luck.

--kj


--
To UNSUBSCRIBE, email to debian-user-REQUEST@...
with a subject of "unsubscribe". Trouble? Contact listmaster@...

 « Return to Thread: sorbs