|
View:
New views
3 Messages
—
Rating Filter:
Alert me
|
|
|
sorbsHi List
I have problem with mail system. I can't send e-mail to internet. I have been listed on dnsbl.sorbs.net. What I can do to delisted from sorbs? Should I only use this link http://www.au.sorbs.net/cgi-bin/support and everything will be ok? Anyone have this problem? Why I have been listed on dnsbl.sorbs.net? Only, because I haven't DNS PTR record for my domain? Should I write this PTR to DNS? pch0317 -- To UNSUBSCRIBE, email to debian-user-REQUEST@... with a subject of "unsubscribe". Trouble? Contact listmaster@... |
|
|
Re: sorbsIn <4A565205.3070702@...>, pch0317 wrote:
>I have problem with mail system. I can't send e-mail to internet. >I have been listed on dnsbl.sorbs.net. >What I can do to delisted from sorbs? Ask SORBS; Debian has nothing to do with SORBS. >Should I only use this link >http://www.au.sorbs.net/cgi-bin/support and everything will be ok? Ask SORBS; Debian has nothing to do with SORBS. >Anyone have this problem? I do not. I have been careful to only send mail for myself and to not send SPAM. >Why I have been listed on dnsbl.sorbs.net? Ask SORBS; Debian has nothing to do with SORBS. >Only, because I haven't DNS >PTR record for my domain? Ask SORBS; Debian has nothing to do with SORBS. I would assume not though. Checking to see if a PTR record exists is probably faster than checking a DNSBL, so I wouldn't think any DNSBL would be based on that. >Should I write this PTR to DNS? All IP addresses, especially those used for servers, should have a PTR record, but very few things depend on that. If you do have a PTR record, then it should be consistent. That is, if you start with an IPv4 address and then do IPv4 address -> PTR lookup -> domain name -> A lookup -> IPv4 address(es), the resulting list should contain the address you started with. Same thing if you do IPv6 address -> PTR lookup - > domain name -> AAAA lookup -> IPv6 address(es). If it is inconsistent, you might be grey- or black-listed by certain mail servers. -- Boyd Stephen Smith Jr. ,= ,-_-. =. bss@... ((_/)o o(\_)) ICQ: 514984 YM/AIM: DaTwinkDaddy `-'(. .)`-' http://iguanasuicide.net/ \_/ |
|
|
Re: sorbspch0317 wrote:
> What I can do to delisted from sorbs? Should I only use this link > http://www.au.sorbs.net/cgi-bin/support and everything will be ok? You could do whatever they ask and then pray they actually de-list you. It's not a guarantee though. Which sites are blocking you based on SORBS? First try to figure out why you got listed. Did you have a website compromise? Contact form spam? SMTP auth password guessed? Does your server bounce mail to external addresses? > Anyone have this problem? Had. Ended up having to get a new IP because despite paying their ransom, they never de-listed us. > Why I have been listed on dnsbl.sorbs.net? Most reputable dns blacklists use a combination of spam traps and common sense. SORBS can be quite trigger happy. > Only, because I haven't DNS > PTR record for my domain? Should I write this PTR to DNS? Your DNS setup won't get you listed on a dnsbl, but it might cause mail providers to reject mail from you. You need to have a DNS A record that matches the hostname your MTA uses in SMTP conversation. telnet to your mail server on port 25 to find out. The hostname should be a fully qualified domain name. The A record should point to the server's primary IP (or which ever IP the server uses to send mail, if it's set different). In addition to that, said IP should have a PTR record that matches the hostname. Good luck. --kj -- To UNSUBSCRIBE, email to debian-user-REQUEST@... with a subject of "unsubscribe". Trouble? Contact listmaster@... |
| Free embeddable forum powered by Nabble | Forum Help |