www89com wiki page?

View: New views
6 Messages — Rating Filter:   Alert me  

www89com wiki page?

by Karl Berry :: Rate this Message:

| View Threaded | Show Only this Message

There is a spurious (?) empty wiki page Www89com created 4 days ago by
one "hj".  With six subscribers.
It's under http://savannah.gnu.org/maintenance/CvsAnonymous.

Is this real, or ...?



Re: www89com wiki page?

by Thomas Schwinge-9 :: Rate this Message:

| View Threaded | Show Only this Message

Hello!

On Sun, Nov 15, 2009 at 05:42:38PM -0500, Karl Berry wrote:
> There is a spurious (?) empty wiki page Www89com created 4 days ago by
> one "hj".  With six subscribers.
> It's under http://savannah.gnu.org/maintenance/CvsAnonymous.
>
> Is this real, or ...?

Spam.  I managed to remove the link to the page, but don't know how to
remove the (subtopic) page itself.  Also, it might perhaps be interesting
to know who the six subscribers are?


Regards,
 Thomas


signature.asc (204 bytes) Download Attachment

Re: www89com wiki page?

by Thomas Schwinge-9 :: Rate this Message:

| View Threaded | Show Only this Message

Hello again!

On Mon, Nov 16, 2009 at 08:46:39AM +0100, I wrote:
> Also, it might perhaps be interesting
> to know who the six subscribers are?

These are people who are subscribed to receive changes to all of the wiki
pages by email.  (Thus not people that are especially interested in this
spam site.)


Regards,
 Thomas


signature.asc (204 bytes) Download Attachment

Re: www89com wiki page?

by Sylvain Beucler-2 :: Rate this Message:

| View Threaded | Show Only this Message

On Mon, Nov 16, 2009 at 08:49:17AM +0100, Thomas Schwinge wrote:
> Hello again!
>
> On Mon, Nov 16, 2009 at 08:46:39AM +0100, I wrote:
> > Also, it might perhaps be interesting
> > to know who the six subscribers are?
>
> These are people who are subscribed to receive changes to all of the wiki
> pages by email.  (Thus not people that are especially interested in this
> spam site.)

I removed the webpage (need an admin account for this).

--
Sylvain



Re: www89com wiki page?

by Karl Berry :: Rate this Message:

| View Threaded | Show Only this Message

    I removed the webpage (need an admin account for this).

Great, thanks.

At your convenience, can you document how to do so (or point to it if I
missed it)?

Also, how could "hj" get permission to create it in the first place?
Is there human approval of new wiki accounts?

I wouldn't be worried, but once one spammer has found us, seems likely a
deluge will follow .... :(



Re: www89com wiki page?

by Sylvain Beucler-2 :: Rate this Message:

| View Threaded | Show Only this Message

On Mon, Nov 16, 2009 at 05:49:09PM -0500, Karl Berry wrote:
>     I removed the webpage (need an admin account for this).
>
> Great, thanks.
>
> At your convenience, can you document how to do so (or point to it if I
> missed it)?

Check HowToAdminThisWiki, I think you do have an admin account. Then
you'll get new buttons at the bottom of the wiki pages.
If you forgot your pass I'll reset it.

> Also, how could "hj" get permission to create it in the first place?
> Is there human approval of new wiki accounts?

Everybody can set a username and create new pages. But it's not
properly an account.

> I wouldn't be worried, but once one spammer has found us, seems likely a
> deluge will follow .... :(

It's not the first time this happens, but it seems rare enough not to
worry yet.

--
Sylvain