|
View:
New views
8 Messages
—
Rating Filter:
Alert me
|
| < Prev | 1 - 2 | Next > |
|
|
emailreg.org (was: zen.spamhaus.org)Hi Rob,
At 12:52 07-04-2009, Rob McEwen wrote: >I had no idea that emailreg.org was owned and operated by Barracuda. I http://www.barracudacentral.org/about/emailreg http://www.emailreg.org/index.cgi?p=about >But, as the post you mentioned said, emailreg.org resolves to >64.235.146.64 and arin.net shows that 64.235.146.64 is clearly in >Barracuda's assigned address space. I'll tell you right now... this is >BIG and EASY money. Very BIG and very EASY money. I suspect they are >pulling in hundreds... maybe even thousands... of those $20 payments per >day. The usage policy at http://www.emailreg.org/index.cgi?p=policy mentions that there is a $20 registration fee to "discourage domain tasters from sending spam and to further verify the contact information". >(if I seem upset about this... read between the lines... and you might >understand why) Are you upset because people are paying money to a site with a domain owner hidden by the Whois privacy registration? :-) Some antispam offers are big and easy money as there's always somebody ready to pay or to jump on the bandwagon because it is free. Regards, -sm |
|
|
Re: emailreg.org (was: zen.spamhaus.org)* SM <sm@...>:
> The usage policy at http://www.emailreg.org/index.cgi?p=policy mentions > that there is a $20 registration fee to "discourage domain tasters from > sending spam and to further verify the contact information". They could simply offer free registration for "old" domains... -- Ralf Hildebrandt Geschäftsbereich IT | Abteilung Netzwerk Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin Campus Benjamin Franklin Hindenburgdamm 30 | D-12200 Berlin Tel. +49 30 450 570 155 | Fax: +49 30 450 570 962 Ralf.Hildebrandt@... | http://www.charite.de |
|
|
Re: emailreg.orgSM wrote:
> Are you upset because people are paying money to a site with a domain > owner hidden by the Whois privacy registration? :-) Some antispam > offers are big and easy money as there's always somebody ready to pay > or to jump on the bandwagon because it is free. I don't understand your last sentence above. It seems to make no sense. But, regardless, I have been given both legal council and business advice (each coming from different perspectives) that I should make no further public comments regarding the operation of BRBL and emailreg.org, at least not on a forum as public as the SA list. EXCEPT TO STATE: Who knows much of anything for absolute certain about this situation? For example, it is entirely within the realm of possibility that emailreg.org is a separate non-commercial and non-profit organization (as the ".org" seems to imply?). And maybe emailreg.org really is a separate entity from Barracuda (as the Barracuda's BRBL removal page seems to imply?). Some may ask, how could that be? Simple. Barracuda may have simply donated the address space and/or web hosting to the emailreg.org organization. Simple as that!. And that (alone!) would be enough to explain the emailreg.org web site being hosted in Barracuda address space. AND EXCEPT TO ASK: Is that $20 fee a one-time fee? Or a yearly fee? Or, does it have any kind of expiration date? Beyond this statement and question, I'll leave it to others to do their own research and draw their own conclusions. -- Rob McEwen http://dnsbl.invaluement.com/ rob@... +1 (478) 475-9032 |
|
|
Re: emailreg.org (was: zen.spamhaus.org)At 01:19 10-04-2009, Ralf Hildebrandt wrote:
>They could simply offer free registration for "old" domains... They could. I doubt that someone running such a service would do that if people are willing to pay. At 04:52 10-04-2009, Rob McEwen wrote: >I don't understand your last sentence above. It seems to make no sense. I'll clarify off-list. >EXCEPT TO STATE: Who knows much of anything for absolute certain about >this situation? For example, it is entirely within the realm of >possibility that emailreg.org is a separate non-commercial and >non-profit organization (as the ".org" seems to imply?). And maybe >emailreg.org really is a separate entity from Barracuda (as the I don't see any difference in the usage of ".org" instead of ".com" as there are commercial organizations that use it. >AND EXCEPT TO ASK: Is that $20 fee a one-time fee? Or a yearly fee? Or, >does it have any kind of expiration date? Who knows? It will be interesting to see whether the rules are included in a SpamAssassin distribution. Regards, -sm |
|
|
Re: emailreg.org (was: zen.spamhaus.org)On Fri, 10 Apr 2009, SM wrote:
> I don't see any difference in the usage of ".org" instead of ".com" as > there are commercial organizations that use it. That's a registrars-don't-follow-the-rules problem, not an extortionate-Barracuda problem. >> AND EXCEPT TO ASK: Is that $20 fee a one-time fee? Or a yearly fee? Or, >> does it have any kind of expiration date? > > Who knows? It will be interesting to see whether the rules are included > in a SpamAssassin distribution. I think it was stated that the fee is annual. -- John Hardin KA7OHZ http://www.impsec.org/~jhardin/ jhardin@... FALaholic #11174 pgpk -a jhardin@... key: 0xB8732E79 -- 2D8C 34F4 6411 F507 136C AF76 D822 E6E6 B873 2E79 ----------------------------------------------------------------------- USMC Rules of Gunfighting #9: Accuracy is relative: most combat shooting standards will be more dependent on "pucker factor" than the inherent accuracy of the gun. ----------------------------------------------------------------------- 3 days until Thomas Jefferson's 266th Birthday |
|
|
Re: emailreg.org (was: zen.spamhaus.org)On Fri, April 10, 2009 10:19, Ralf Hildebrandt wrote: > They could simply offer free registration for "old" domains... +1 -- http://localhost/ 100% uptime and 100% mirrored :) |
|
|
Re: emailreg.org (was: zen.spamhaus.org)* SM <sm@...>:
> At 01:19 10-04-2009, Ralf Hildebrandt wrote: >> They could simply offer free registration for "old" domains... > > They could. I doubt that someone running such a service would do that if > people are willing to pay. Indeed! -- Ralf Hildebrandt Geschäftsbereich IT | Abteilung Netzwerk Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin Campus Benjamin Franklin Hindenburgdamm 30 | D-12200 Berlin Tel. +49 30 450 570 155 | Fax: +49 30 450 570 962 Ralf.Hildebrandt@... | http://www.charite.de |
|
|
Re: emailreg.org (was: zen.spamhaus.org)On Fri, 2009-04-10 at 18:50 +0200, Ralf Hildebrandt wrote: > * SM <sm@...>: > > At 01:19 10-04-2009, Ralf Hildebrandt wrote: > >> They could simply offer free registration for "old" domains... > > > > They could. I doubt that someone running such a service would do that if > > people are willing to pay. > > Indeed! > One major point is being missed here. If you *don't* send out UCE, you'll never need these services or be worried by things like $pamhaus. You could host with Rackspace or Fasthosts and become immune from the $pamhaus 'order of the loyal spammer' Keeeerrrrrchinnnnng. Those Court Cases don't come for free... |
| < Prev | 1 - 2 | Next > |
| Free embeddable forum powered by Nabble | Forum Help |